2008-2009  Calendar
Main
Calendar

Aug 2008

Mon Aug 25, 7pm
There is a meeting and BBQ for senior scouts and assistant scoutmasters at Mr. Welton's house at 55 Twin Brook Dr in Stamford this Monday at 7 PM. We will be selecting leadership positions and planing outings for the upcoming year. Please give him a call or email and let him know if you can make it.


Sep 2008

Mon Sep 1
School holiday — no meeting.

Mon Sep 8, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting (first of the year), community house. Dues are $85 for the first scout, and $75 for each sibling -- due by Parents' Night (October 27).

Tue Sep 9, 7:30
Committee meeting, community house.

Mon Sep 15, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house. Permission slips for the Sept 27-28 Sheffield Island trip, and a check for $45 (payable to “BSA Troop 11”) are due today.

Mon Sep 22, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Sat Sep 27 to Sun Sep 28
Camping on Sheffield Island. Canceled due to bad weather.

We'll be taking the ferry from Norwalk Harbor over to Sheffield Island on Saturday morning. We'll visit the historic lighthouse, walk on the nature trail, and perform a service project. We will be cooking dinner and breakfast on the island. Bring a bag lunch and camping supplies and clothing appropriate for the season. Permission slips and a check for $45 (payable to “BSA Troop 11”) are due on Monday evening, September 15, at our weekly meeting. Late forms will not be accepted.

Meet at the main church parking lot at 9am on Saturday, Sep 27. We will collect equipment from our storage closets in the community house, and then drive in a group to Norwalk harbor. The ferry leaves promptly at 10:30 from the dock at the intersection of Water and Washington Streets in South Norwalk.

We will depart the island at 10:30am on Sunday morning. We expect to return to the church parking lot by noon on Sunday.

Bring the following:

  • Bag lunch for Saturday
  • Sleeping bag
  • Sleeping pad
  • Clothing
  • Toilet articles
  • Rain gear (rain does not cancel this trip)
  • Sweater or jacket (expect cold weather)
  • Work gloves for service project (plant removal or garbage pickup)
  • Flashlight
  • Mess kit
  • 2 quarts of water (there is no water on the island; the troop will bring some, but scouts need to bring some of their own)
  • Ball, frisbee, kite or other daytime sporting equipment or game (optional)
  • Deck of cards or other nighttime game (optional)
  • Backpack or duffle bag to put everything in

Mon Sep 29, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.


October 2008

Sat Oct 4 to Sun Oct 5
Overnight camping, Putnam Memorial State Park, Redding, CT.

Mon Oct 6, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Tue Oct 7, 7:30
Committee meeting, community house.

Mon Oct 13
School holiday — no meeting.

Sat Oct 18 to Sun Oct 19
Powahay District Fall Camporee, at the Hoyt Scout Reservation, West Redding, CT. Meet at church parking lot at 7am on Saturday morning. Returning 11:30am Sunday morning. Bring thepermission slip with a check for $15 made out to "BSA Troop 11". Also bring:
  • Bag lunch for Saturday
  • Class A uniform (shirt, hat, bolo, green pants, boots)
  • Sleeping bag
  • Sleeping pad
  • Change of clothes (avoid cotton)
  • Toilet articles
  • Rain gear (rain does not cancel this trip)
  • Sweater and/or jacket (expect cold weather)
  • Flashlight
  • Mess kit
  • Canteen with water
  • Backpack or duffle bag to put everything in

Mon Oct 20, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house. First physical fitness test for Tenderfoot rank.

Mon Oct 27, 7:30-8:30pm
Troop meeting, community house, with early dismissal at 8:30, except for senior scouts, who will stay for a greenbar meeting until 9pm. (Parents' Night postponed to December 8.)

Dues are needed by tonight. $85 for the first scout, $75 for each sibling. Make checks payable to "BSA Troop 11".


November 2008

Mon Nov 3, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Tue Nov 4, 7:30
Committee meeting, community house.

Mon Nov 10, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Mon Nov 17, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Sat Nov 22 to Sun Nov 23
Appalachian Trail backpacking trip, Connecticut section 1B. Meet at Saturday 8am at the church parking lot. Returning early afternoon on Sunday. Bring a bag lunch for Saturday, and money for Sunday lunch. Permission slips are due November 10. Make sure to pack according to our backpacking checklist. Remember: NO COTTON.

Mon Nov 24, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Fri Nov 28, 7pm
Steve K. Eagle Court of Honor, North Stamford Community Church. Scout attendance is mandatory. Dinner will be served afterwards in the community house.


December 2008

Mon Dec 1, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house. Bloody Monday first aid workshop. Troop 11 scouts should arrive promptly at 7:30 to help set up. Cub Scouts will be arriving at about 7:45 pm; first aid scenario activities will begin after a short introductory briefing. This event will be most meaningful for scouts who have had some basic training in treatment of injuries (cuts, burns, etc). Scouts should WEAR OLD CLOTHES (no uniforms), as simulated blood may stain. Participation by Cub Scouts who are not yet in 5th grade is not recommended, since portrayal of serious injuries can be a bit graphic for younger Cubs (depending on the quality of our Troop 11 actors). Activities should conclude by 9:00 pm.

Tue Dec 2, 7:30
Committee meeting, community house.

Sat Dec 6
Service project, North Stamford Community Church. Required for rifle shooting on Sunday. Bring work gloves, leaf rake or pruning tool if you have one.

Sun Dec 7, 1-4pm
Rifle shooting at the Cos Cob Revolver and Rifle Club, 451 Steamboat Rd, Greenwich, CT (across from the Greenwich train station), 203-622-9508. Rifle and ammunition will be provided. No uniforms, no personal equipment. Cost is $10. Permission slip and check (payable to BSA Troop 11) is due by November 24. You must have done the service project on Saturday in order to participate.

Mon Dec 8, 7:30-9pm
Parents' Night, community house. Awards presentation, rank advancement, slide show.

Mon Dec 15, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house. Schedule change: Scout youth protection videos will be notbe shown. This will be postponed until early 2009. This meeting instead will be largely devoted to planning the Dec 22 holiday party.

Mon Dec 22, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house. Scouts holiday party. Scouts should bring a wrapped present, costing no more than $10, for a grab bag. Also please bring an unwrapped toy for Toys 4 Tots. Dress casually -- no uniforms necessary.

Mon Dec 29
School holiday — no meeting.


January 2009

Mon Jan 5, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Tue Jan 6, 7:30
Committee meeting, community house.

Mon Jan 12, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Mon Jan 19
School holiday — no meeting.

Fri Jan 23, 7:30pm
Eagle Court of Honor for Marlin B, Church of the Holy Spirit, 403 Scofieldtown Rd.

Mon Jan 26, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Sat Jan 31 to Sun Feb 1
Overnight camping, Camp Sequassen. Staying overnight Saturday night, returning Sunday late morning or early afternoon.


February 2009

Mon Feb 2, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Tue Feb 3, 7:30
Committee meeting, community house.

Mon Feb 9, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house. Permission slips for the Feb 12 swimming activity and theFeb 27 ski trip are due today.

Thu Feb 12, 7:30-8:45pm
Troop Swim, Stamford Italian Center, 1620 Newfield Ave. Use the south parking lot entrance, and proceed to pool area at the end of the hallway on the left. Bring a swimsuit and a towel. There is no troop-provided transportation for this event. Permission slips are due at the Feb 9 meeting.

Mon Feb 16
School holiday — no meeting.

Mon Feb 23, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Fri Feb 27 to Sun Mar 1
Skiing in Ascutney, Vermont. We meet in the church parking lot on Friday at 3:30pm, and return late afternoon on Sunday. Bring a bag dinner for Friday PM, sleeping gear, and money for ski equipment rental and expenses. Permission slips are due at the Feb 9 meeting.


March 2009

Sun Mar 1, 10:30am-3:00pm
Maple Sugar Sunday at the Stamford Nature Center. Troop 11 traditionally operates the colonial maple sugaring exhibit. We need volunteers to come keep the fire going, the sap boiling, and to explain to visitors how the process works.

Mon Mar 2, 7:30-8:30pm
Troop meeting, community house. Youth protection training videos will be shown this evening. Due to the sensitive and at times uncomfortable scenarios presented in these videos, we ask that every scout be accompanied by at least one parent. After the videos, the troop will be dismissed.

Tue Mar 3, 7:30
Committee meeting, community house.

Mon Mar 9, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Mon Mar 16, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Mon Mar 23, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Sat Mar 28 to Sun Mar 29
Appalachian Trail backpacking trip, Connecticut section 2.

Mon Mar 30, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house. Parents' Night. Presentations, awards, rank advancement, and slide show.


April 2009

Mon Apr 6, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Tue Apr 7, 7:30
Committee meeting, community house.

Mon Apr 13, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Mon Apr 20
School holiday — no meeting.

Sat Apr 25 to Sun Apr 26
Six Flags Great Adventure Camporee, Jackson, NJ. Details at http://www.jerseyshore-bsa.org/mydocuments/2009_package_form.pdf.

Mon Apr 27, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.


May 2009

Mon May 4, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Tue May 5, 7:30
Committee meeting, community house.

Sat May 8 to May 9
Class IV Whitewater Rafting, Upper Hudson River Gorge. Senior scouts only.

Mon May 11, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Sat May 16 to Sun May 17
Connecticut Yankee Council ConnJam '09, Orange, CT. Details athttp://www.ctyankee.org/program/connjam.

Mon May 18, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Mon May 25
School holiday — no meeting.


June 2009

Mon Jun 1, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.

Tue Jun 2, 7:30
Committee meeting, community house.

Fri Jun 5 to Sun Jun 7
Block Island trip and camp-out.

Mon Jun 8, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house. Parents' Night.

Mon Jun 15, 7:30-9pm
Troop meeting, community house.


July 2009

Sun Jul 26 to Sun Aug 2
Summer Camp at Yawgoog Scout Reservation, Rockville, RI.


August 2009